Useful Information

Weather

Korea’s climate is regarded as a continental climate which has the four distinct seasons. Summer lasts from June to early September and it is the hottest and wettest season. The mean temperature is between 23 to 26 degrees Celsius. Jangma, the rainy season in Korean, usually lasts from mid-June until the end of July. During jangma, umbrellas and raincoats are essential.

Time Difference

Korea Standard Time is 9 hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT +9).

Please refer to the below table and read the graph vertically to compare the time differences between cities from around the world.

City Time
Seoul, Tokyo (Korea Time) 1:00 4:00 7:00 10:00 13:00 16:00 19:00 22:00
Manila, Hong Kong, Singapore 24:00 3:00 6:00 9:00 12:00 15:00 18:00 21:00
Bangkok, Jakarta 23:00 2:00 5:00 8:00 11:00 14:00 17:00 20:00
New Delhi, Calcutta 22:00 1:00 4:00 7:00 10:00 13:00 16:00 19:00
Teheran, Kuwait, Jeddah 19:00 22:00 1:00 4:00 7:00 10:00 13:00 16:00
Rome, Paris, Amsterdam 17:00 20:00 23:00 2:00 5:00 8:00 11:00 14:00
London, Madrid 16:00 19:00 22:00 1:00 4:00 7:00 10:00 13:00
Rio de Janeiro, Sao Paulo 13:00 16:00 19:00 22:00 1:00 4:00 7:00 11:00
New York, Montreal, Bogota 11:00 14:00 17:00 20:00 23:00 2:00 5:00 8:00
Chicago, Houston 10:00 13:00 16:00 19:00 22:00 1:00 4:00 7:00
Vancouver, Seattle, Los Angeles 8:00 11:00 14:00 17:00 20:00 23:00 2:00 5:00
Sydney, Melbourne 2:00 5:00 8:00 11:00 14:00 17:00 20:00 23:00
  • * Please note that there is no daylight saving time in Korea.
  • * Shaded boxes designate times that fall in the previous calendar day.

Business Hours

Banks
  • Weekdays: 09:00 – 16:00
  • Weekends and National Holidays: Closed
Government Offices
  • Weekdays: 09:00 – 18:00
  • Weekends and National Holidays: Closed
Post Offices
  • Weekdays: 09:00 – 18:00
  • Public Holidays: Closed
Department Stores
  • 10:30 – 20:00
  • * Closings will vary according to each store.
Major Convenience Stores 24 hours

Korean Currency and Credit Cards

Korea’s official currency unit is the won. Korean currency consists of 10, 50, 100 and 500 won coins, and 1,000, 5,000, 10,000 and 50,000 won bills. The exchange rate is approximately US$1 to KRW 1,170 as of December 2015. Most of the businesses in Korea widely accept credit card payments at major hotels, department stores, large restaurants, and stores; Visa, Master, American Express, Diner’s Club and other credit cards can be used.

Tipping

Tipping is not a traditional Korean custom. Sometimes fancy restaurants and luxury hotels may add a service charge of 10% but normally you do not need to prepare for extra charge since it will be included in the bill.

VAT (Value-added tax)

Value-added tax (VAT) is levied on most goods and services at a standard rate of 10% and is usually included in the retail price. At tourist hotels, this 10% tax applies to meals and other services and is added to the bill.

Electricity and Voltage

The standard voltage in Korea is 220 volts. The outlet has two round holes and is the same type used in France, Germany, Austria, Greece, Turkey, and many other countries. If you do not have a multi-voltage travel adapter, you can borrow one from your hotel's front desk. If you want to buy one in Korea, you can do so at a duty-free shop, convenience shop at the airport.

Telephone/ Mobile Phone

To make international phone calls, first dial the international dialing code (001, 002 or 008), then the country code, followed by the area code, and then the phone number. Most convenient stores, hotels, and airports sell domestic and international phone cards. It is available to rent mobile phones and apply for roaming services at Incheon and Gimpo International Airports.

For more details, please visit the below websites:

  • KT Roaming Service  Click
  • SK Telecom Roaming Service  Click
  • LG U+ Roaming Service  Click

Emergency & Useful Numbers

Police 112
Fire and Ambulance 119
International Telephone Information 794
International Call Operator 799
Local Directory Assistance 114
Tourist Information 1330
Tourist Complaint Center +82-2-735-0101
위로가기